開幕研討會

簡介

(a) 研究所的科學方向

氣動力學與聲學研究所(簡稱AA所)致力於以下三方面的基礎和應用研究:流動穩定性,振動或氣流產生的聲波及其控制。我們的興趣絕不限於狹義的、源於湍流的“氣動聲學”。從廣義的角度說,我們著力於研究動態系統及其在能源和環境工程中的應用。經典的、無平均流動的聲學固然是我們科研工作的重要組成部分,但是我們聲學研究的出發點是這樣的:氣體和液體的聲學是非穩態流體力學的一個分支。通常的結構振動可以產生聲音,但我們更加關注的是它如何在動態系統里吸收聲音。所以我們的關鍵詞是: 氣流,聲音,動力學,和穩定性

(b) 工程背景

首先,環境噪聲污染影響著我們的生活質量。交通和基建是兩個主要聲源。比如在香港,七分之一的人口生活居住的環境噪聲強度超出了政府設定的標準。像加工車間和發電站這樣的工業噪聲污染嚴重影響著許多工人和臨近居民的健康。雖然經濟發達的國家可以為工人提供職業噪聲經濟補償,但我們真正需要的是一個徹底的聲學解決方案。

     

飛機噪聲飛機噪聲是具有長遠商業影響的特殊環境問題。機場常常坐落於遠離市區的地方,其原因之一便是噪聲污染。世界上首架超音速客機 (協和號) 正是因為其噪聲問題導致它過早離開歷史舞台。目前我們中國正研制生產中大型客機,我們課題組就為此參與了一個減少客機噪聲的國家“973”項目。

 

 


大眾消費產品的噪聲問題也是我們研發的一個重點。幾乎所有電器都存在通風噪音問題,例如:電腦及IT產品的冷卻風扇,抽風機,吹風機等等。大多數類似產品的主要噪聲源是氣流和風扇,當然有一部分產品的噪聲源於振動。對這類問題,經典聲學要麼無法解決,要麼導致大量能量(壓力)損失或笨重設計。

          

預防由氣流產生的自激振動是我們感興趣的另一個重要課題。應用範圍涉及飛機的升力面,高負荷工作的渦輪機械,石油管道和冒口,人類打鼾和睡眠窒息及大血管內的血液流動。聲波輻射不一定是引起這些問題的重要因素,但是在其它應用上,例如燃氣輪機設備和飛機加力燃燒室的不穩定燃燒問題,就完全是聲波引起而且必須對聲波進行控制。

               

因為流體的不穩定性,能量常常從平均流轉變到劇烈的結構性振動。但換個角度看,這樣的能量轉換機制可能有助於發展一種從中低速流動中汲取能量的裝置,這種裝置可能在海浪利用和風力發電上有巨大的應用前景。

(c) 研究所的工作目標

我們研究所旨在成為

  •  發展現代聲學和流體機械技術的國際知名中心,

  •  讓不同專業背景的研究人員進行跨學科的合作交流,

  •  協助港大培養博士後及各級研究人員和本科實習。

我們的工作計劃是

  • 發展聯合研發實驗室並對工業界開放,

  • 在若干個對科學和社會發展重要的課題上和國內外同行開展合作,

  • 聘用、培養各個層次的研發人才,設立交換生項目,組織研討班和學術會議。

我們希望建立一個擁有20-30位在以下幾個專業方向有造詣的科研團隊:聲學和振動,流體力學和結構力學,傳感器及控制工程,產品開發,等。有興趣申讀港大研究生學位的同學請點擊此鏈接,而希望加盟我們研究所的同仁請看我們的招聘廣告。我們也十分歡迎短期訪問學者建立長期合作。

Inaugural Symposium

Introduction

(a) What do we do scientifically? 

The laboratory of aerodynamics and acoustics (AA-Lab) conducts fundamental and applied research on flow stability, sound wave generation, and their control. Our interest goes beyond the traditional ‘aeroacoustics’ of turbulence. From a broader perspective, we are interested in dynamic systems, and their application in energy and environmental engineering. Classical acoustics without airflow does form an important subset of our work, but we emphasize the fact that the acoustics of gas and liquid is a branch of unsteady fluid dynamics. Usual structural vibration generates sound but we are far more interested in how it absorbs sound as part of a dynamic system. The key words for our lab are therefore: flow, sound, dynamics and stability.

(b) What are the engineering motivations for our work? 

First, environmental noise pollution affects our quality of life, traffic and construction work being two major complices. Take Hong Kong as an example, one in seven lives in an environment where the noise level exceeds the tolerance set by the government. Industrial noise pollution affects both factory workers and nearby residents. Examples include metal workshops, power stations, etc. In advanced economies there are financial compensation schemes, but what we really need is acoustic solutions.

     

Aircraft noiseAircraft noise is a special environmental concern with far reaching commercial consequences. Part of the reason for airports being located afar is their noise. The world’s first supersonic jetliner, Concord, retires prematurely partly due to its noise problems. In one of the projects we get involved, known as a ‘973’ project in China, we now explore new ways to reduce noise in anticipation of the launch of a new passenger aircraft.

 

Consumer product noise is one of our foci in R&D. Almost all electrical appliances have ventilation noise problems. Examples include computer/IT cooling fans, vacuum cleaners, hair dryers, extraction fans and the list goes on. Most of these have airflow and fan as the main noise source but occasionally vibration is also prominent. Classical acoustics is inadequate and it often leads to high energy (pressure) loss or bulky design.

          

Prevention of flow induced vibration is another category of our interest. Examples of applications include lifting surfaces of aircraft, turbomachinery blades working under high loading, oil pipelines and risers, human snoring and sleep apnoea, and blood flow through large vessels. Sound wave radiation may or may not be a factor but in others, such as the unstable combustion in gas turbine facility and aircraft after-burners, sound waves do play a central role and acoustic intervention is what it takes.

             

In flow instability, energy is pumped from the mean flow to catastrophic structural vibrations. On the other hand, such energy conversion might be deliberately set up for the purpose of energy harvesting from moderate to low speeds which are otherwise difficult to utilize in oceans and wind.

(c) The mission of our lab in HKU-ZIRI.

Our lab aims to become

  • an internationally known centre of excellence in developing new acoustic and fluid machinery technology,

  • an academic centre of excellence where people of different expertise enjoying working together on inter-disciplinary topics, and

  • an education hub for postdocs, postgraduates and undergraduate interns.

We plan to accomplish these missions through

  • developing joint R&D labs with industry and open up our facility to industry,

  • forge national and international collaborations on topics of scientific and/or social importance,

  • recruit and nurture research students, set up exchange programs and organize workshops and conferences.

We aim to build a team of 20-30 people with expertise in acoustics and vibration, fluid and structural mechanics, sensors, actuators and control, as well as essential aspects of product development. Interested researchers may contact the lab director by email with an updated CV.  Potential applicants for postgraduate studies may follow this link for detailed information on admission while graduates of various levels may find our general recruitment advert useful. We also warmly welcome short-term visitors with an aim to establish long-term collaborations.